About Canadian Dealmakers
Apply here
Meet our winners
Insights & ideas
Gala event
Meet our past winners 2007-2014
Photos 2015

Founding partners

The Globe and Mail
Gold sponsor
Silver sponsors
Bronze sponsors

​Charitable sponsor



Net Proceeds go to support







Home > Meet our winners
Celebrating the art and science of the deal

2015 winners 

Deal Team of the Year Award: 


Magna International Inc.
for their multiple acquisitions

Recipient advisors: Allen & Overy •
Deloitte • Ernst & Young • Hengeler Mueller
• Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP • PWC • Sidley Austin LLP

Value Creation Award: 


Gildan Activewear Inc. for their multiple acquisitions

Recipient advisors: Bank of America Merrill Lynch • CIBC World Markets • KPMG • Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP • Sullivan & Cromwell LLP

IPO of the Year Award:shopify_cmyk_logo_whitebg.jpg




Shopify Inc.'s IPO 

Recipient advisors: Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP • Canaccord Genuity • Credit Suisse Group • Morgan Stanley • Pacific Crest Securities • Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP • PWC • Raymond James & Associates • RBC Dominion Securities • Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP • Stikeman Elliott LLP

Consumer Business Industry Award:   





Hudson's Bay Company acquires Kaufhof

Recipient advisors: Bank of America
• Deloitte • Landesbank Baden-Württemberg • Morgan Stanley • RBC Capital Markets • Stikeman Elliott LLP • Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP
Deal advisors: Cahill Gordon & Reindel LLP • Clifford Chance LLP • Hengeler Mueller


Financial Industry Award:



Element Financial Corporation acquires GE Capital’s Fleet Management Business

Recipient advisors: Barclays • Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP  • BMO Capital Markets  • CIBC World Markets • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP  • Herbert Smith Freehills LLP • INFOR Financial Group • White & Case LLP

Target advisors: Creel, García-Cuéllar, Aiza y Enriquez, S.C. • JP Morgan • King & Wood Mallesons • Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

Deal Advisors: Dentons Canada LLP • Osler,  Hoskin & Harcourt LLP


Information Technology Industry Award:  

D+H Standard Logo.jpg 



DH Corporation acquires Fundtech

Recipient advisors: CIBC World Markets • Credit Suisse Group • Deloitte • KPMG •
• RBC Capital Markets • Scotiabank • Stikeman Elliott LLP • Winston & Strawn LLP


Foreign Outbound (Global) Award:                       


Linamar Corporation acquires Montupet

Recipient advisors: Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP • BMO Capital Markets • Deutsche Bank • Image Sept • Linklaters LLP • Natixis • Scotiabank • TD Securities

Target advisors: Georgeson • Jeantet
Jefferies • Oddo & Cie


Foreign Outbound (US) Award: 

 SunOpta with Bringing Well-Being to Life EPS (2).jpg

SunOpta Inc. acquires Sunrise Growers

Recipient advisors: BMO Capital Markets
• Citi • Deloitte • Faegre Baker Daniels LLP
• Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP

Deal Advisors: Deutsche Bank •
Wachtell, Lipton,Rosen & Katz
• William Blair

Media & Telecommunication Industry Award:

Rogers Communications Inc. acquires Mobilicity 

Recipient advisors: McMillan LLP •
Stikeman Elliott LLP

Deal Advisors: Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP • Goodmans LLP • Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP • Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP


Foreign Outbound (US) Award:


Zayo Group acquires Allstream

Recipient advisors: Borden Ladner Gervais LLP • Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
• Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP • RBC Capital Markets

Target advisors: CIBC World Markets • Stikeman Elliott LLP • TD Securities • Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLP


Manufacturing Industry Award:

New Flyer_logo_1_0_wide_high_jpg.jpg 

New Flyer Industries Inc. acquires Motor Coach Industries International

Recipient advisors: BMO Capital Markets
• Deloitte • Scotiabank • Torys LLP

Deal advisors: Borden Ladner Gervais LLP • Chapman and Cutler LLP • Goodmans LLP • JP Morgan • Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP


Mid Market Deal of the Year Award:

Clearwater Two Colour Vector Logo.jpg 
Clearwater Seafoods Inc. acquires Macduff Shellfish

Recipient advisors: Andrew Jackson Solicitors •  BMO Capital Markets • Ernst  & Young • Goodmans LLP • KPMG • Loyens & Loeff N.V. • McInnes Cooper • Pinsent Masons LLP

Target advisors: Anderson Anderson & Brown LLP • Burness Paull LLP.

Deal Advisors: Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP • CMS Cameron McKenna LLP

Canadian Bank of the Year (Deal volume):    

RBC Capital Markets.jpg 


RBC Capital Markets


Canadian Bank of the Year (Deal value):


BMO Capital Markets

View our past winners (2007-2014)