About Canadian Dealmakers
Apply here
Meet our winners
Insights & ideas
Gala event
Rewards & benefits
Awards process
Key dates
Founding partners
Meet the judges
Celebrating excellence in mergers and acquisitions

Founding partners

The Globe and Mail
Thomson Reuters

Signature & after party sponsor


Signature sponsors


Silver sponsor

Home > About Canadian Dealmakers > Meet the judges
A Who's Who of business leaders

As the only program of its kind in Canada, Canadian Dealmakers attracts an impressive array of judges. A committee of preeminent business leaders evaluate to what extent each candidate meets or exceeds the awards' criteria.

The eminence of the Canadian Dealmakers program is largely due to the credibility of its judges. Below you will find the 2014 Canadian Dealmakers adjudication panel members:


Brent Belzberg
Senior Managing Partner, TorQuest Partners Inc.

Marc-André Blanchard
Chair & CEO, McCarthy Tétrault LLP

Denyse Chicoyne
Director, TMX Group and Director, Richelieu Hardware Ltd.

Derek DeCloet
Editor, Report on Business, The Globe and Mail

George F.J. Gosbee
Chair & CEO, AltaCorp Capital Inc.

Donald R. Ingram
President & CEO, CamCar and Associates

John H. McArthur
Dean Emeritus, Harvard Business School

L. Jacques Ménard, C.C., O.Q.
Chairman, BMO Nesbitt Burns and President, BMO Financial Group, Quebec

Eileen Mercier
Chair, Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan

Gregory J. Smith
Chair, Canada’s Venture Capital & Private Equity Association and President & CEO, Instar Group

Robert Tessier
Board Chair, Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec

Scott Thomson
President & CEO, Finning International Inc.

Frank Vettese
CEO, Deloitte Canada

Adjudication panel committee:

  • Jean Cumming, Lexpert
  • Charles Knight and Mark Jamrozinski, Deloitte
  • Duncan Houston, Thomson Reuters